Bumble & Bumble Thickening Dryspun Finish

You hear Bumble & Bumble mentioned alot in magazine as these amazing products for an “undone” hair look, or to add volume/texture to your hair. I’d never tried any before, as (a) they is not cheap, and (b) I wasn’t really sure what they’d do for my hair. I have fine hair…..but lots of it, we’re talking a serious amount of hair here peoples. It tends to fool hairdressers into thinking I have thick hair, but alas no. I still suffer from d’aul floppy roots as the weight of the sheer amount of hair on my head pulls the roots flat in record time.

On a whim recently I bought the mini (50ml) size of Bumble & Bumbles Thickening Dryspun Finish (there’s a mouthful….that’s what she said) in Boots. Here’s the spiel from their website: “This translucent dry spray creates instant fullness and texture to spin hair into an airy silhouette”. I must have read the display incorrectly as I thought it was €9 in Boots, but when I checked my receipt after it was listed as €14. I checked Boots website to confirm the price but the 40ml is not listed, just the 120ml size which is €30!!! For a glorified hairspray…I ask you. It would want to work miracles.

Sadly, it does not. Having had a nose on Bumble & Bumbles website, I watched a video showing how you were supposed to apply it. Basically you lift sections and spray while juzzing the hair around. And yes, you get volume, but for me anyway, it doesn’t hold more than a minute or two. The “undone” effect just looks messy in a finger in an electrical socket kind of way. And worst of all, it makes my hair crispy & sticky….so not what I was looking for. Add to that, the fact that in a heroic attempt to give it a full & fair trial for you readers, I have used it all of 4 times. This morning being the last time…and it is gone. I wasn’t particularly heavy handed. In fact, I used as little as possible to try and avoid the aforementioned crispy, stickiness. Not good, not good at all. For €14 I would have expected it to last alot longer. And if you take a 40ml as lasting 4 goes, that would mean the 120ml would only last approximately 12 times for 30 quid…..Ahh here.

There are plenty of other similar sprays on the market that cost alot less for the same job, and last alot longer too. I have personally tried the L’oreal TXT Volume Supersizing Spray, which is quite similar, if even a bit better, and is currently on offer in Boots at €4.99 for 200ml or 2 for €5.50. Save your pennies and get the L’oreal version.

Have you tried Bumble & Bumble products? What did you make of them? And/or what would you recommend instead?

12 thoughts on “Bumble & Bumble Thickening Dryspun Finish

  1. I’ve always been curious about this, but never bought it because I can’t quite equate spending €30 for something that will make my hair look undone! I do like products that add texture though so have always been tempted. I can tick it off my list now! Thank you!

  2. So grateful for this review because I too suffer the “massive amounts of baby-fine hair” curse, and it’s a hair type quite overlooked in hair product reviews! €14 seems a very excessive price for four average quantity uses, too. Will give this one a miss, I think.

    I end up with that “undone” look by skipping a day’s washing my hair, then applying dry shampoo after. It’s a lot cheaper, and also gives my hair a day’s break from washing– which is probably better than adding another product to my routine anyway.

    Thanks for sharing this with us!

Leave a Reply

