Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer….my holy grail primer

veil_mineral_primer_30ml_2_1

Let me start off by saying that this is NOT a budget buy, but due to an ever increasing state of oiliness in my t zone it has turned out to be some of the best money I have ever spent on a beauty product.
I have combination/dehydrated skin and over the past number of months, my t zone has gotten oilier and oilier, which in turn has caused my makeup to slip & slide and basically disintegrate off my t zone within a relatively short period of time. I tried primer after primer….Laura Mercier, Clarins, Smashbox, Benefit, Catrice, Avon, Rimmel and the only one which afforded me any sort of longevity was the Rimmel, but even then I had to blot constantly. And by constantly I mean every hour or so or my makeup would be eaten by the oil. Between the constant blotting and powdering, my makeup would end up patchy & very obvious looking, which is not a look I tend to aim for.

I had heard that Hourglass Mineral Veil primer was supposed to be quite good, but then so were all the others I’d tried so unsuccessfully, and it was quite expensive. But I was in Dublin in SpaceNK a few weeks back and I went a bit mad and splurged on it after a recommendation by Karen from Lovely Girlie Bits. Now I didn’t go too mad, I still had a slightly sensible head on my shoulders and bought the mini 10ml size for €25, rather than the full 30ml size at €62 (I think). Though I still nearly calved at handing over €25 for such a teeny bottle. Lads t’was a revelation. My makeup is lasting so well, I only have to blot once a day now, maybe twice if it’s been a long or humid day, but quite simply….I LOVE Hourglass Mineral Veil and don’t think I can ever be without it again. It comes in a lovely frosted glass bottle with a black lid and a teeny tiny pump. One pump does my entire face easily so it should last a while (fingers crossed).

Here is my face after 10 hours of wear and having only needed to blot once midway through the day.

IMG_2173

Not too bad eh? I’m sure by now you can guess that I am mega impressed with it? 

Have you tried Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer and if so, what did you think of it. What primer do you swear by? 

*Photo courtesy of hourglasscosmetics.com

7 thoughts on “Hourglass Mineral Veil Primer….my holy grail primer

  1. Pingback: 2014 The Year Of…. | One For The Wish List

    • Isn’t it. Are you still undecided about repurchasing? You have dry skin though haven’t you? Probably wouldn’t make as dramatic a difference as it does for me.

  2. I haven’t tried this primer Yvonne, it sounds great 🙂 I’m using the Gosh Velvet Touch Foundation Primer – Cream, find it great for my sensitive dehydrated skin.

Leave a Reply

