Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms

Being a big fan of a bright matte lip, and a devotee of my Nars Velvet Matte lip pencil, when I heard Revlon were bringing out a matte version of their Just Bitten Kissable Balm Stain lip pencils I was one happy camper.
So I finally got myself to a Boots this week and picked some up on 3 for 2 (yay!). I bought Striking, Elusive & Unapologetic. Striking is a mid red with a hint of orange to it.
20140201-144714.jpg  20140201-144707.jpg  20140201-144657.jpg

Elusive is a cool rose pink, very work appropriate and Unapologetic is lovely coralish pink. They all have a minty smell which some people might not like, but I do, it’s smells like toothpaste. And once it’s on you don’t really notice the scent anymore. They are twist up, which is one up on the Nars as it needs to be sharpened. They apply very easily and feel balmy on the lip, not drying at all. This can be attributed to Revlon’s Triple Butter Complex, containing Shea, Mango & Coconut Butters they really nourish the lip. These dry down to a stain, I’ve only worn Striking & Elusive yet and while being made over in BT Cork the other day I had to take off my lippie (Elusive) for the SA to try a YSL one on me, (review to follow) and it took some amount of rubbing with a tissue to get it off. The colours wear well and fade evenly as time goes on rather than rubbing off in parts. I love them and at €11.99 each and currently on 3 for 2 at Boots, how could you go wrong?

20140201-144627.jpg  20140201-144640.jpg  20140201-144648.jpg
Striking                           Unapologetic                    Elusive

Sorry for the crappy pictures, I found it nearly impossible to take a decent close up picture without giving ye all a good look up my nose. And now somehow I have managed to make it look like I have a huge chin, I don’t….I swear.

I was contemplating getting Standout, a deeper wine shade but decided against it, but on seeing Emma from Milkteefs review, it looks a stunning dark berry colour on her so I will definitely be going back for that one. Revlon also released a selection of Lacquer Balms at the same time. I swatched some but they didn’t have nearly as much pigmentation as the Matte Balms, much more of a tinted lip balm finish.

8 thoughts on “Revlon Colorburst Matte Balms

Leave a Reply

