Lazy FOTD featuring some products I’ve purchased recently

I went on a bit of a spending spree recently and picked up quite a few bits. So I decided to do a face of the day featuring a few of them so I could do a few mini reviews all in the one post.

By lazy fotd, I mean I didn’t bother with foundation today, just corrector, concealer, powder, blush, a one colour wash eyeshadow, mascara and tinted balm. So I have awful dark circles, way worse than they look in the photos, they’re hereditary so even if I slept for a week the buggers would still be there. So far my HG dark circle hiding apparatus has been Laura Mercier Secret Conceal & Secret Brightening Powder….these are not cheap but omg they do work so well), so I decided to try something different. I went to Bobbi Brown when I was in Cork recently and got matched up for one of their correctors. The shade I was matched to is Porcelain Bisque. I have used the Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer before and was not particularly fond of it so I am sticking with my trusty Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer in Vanilla, I bought this online and matched it myself so I think while I get away with it, I might possibly be closer to Chantilly, which is slightly lighter.

Dark Circles, Bare EyebrowsBobbi Brown Correctorcorrector & concealer

1. Bare Skin & Brow’s 2. Bobbi Brown Corrector, 3. Corrector & Nars Radiant Creamy Concealer

eyebrow filled in

Then I filled in my eyebrows with my new Nars Brow Perfector in Kalamata (I keep thinking Calamari =D). I’ve never been a fan of eyebrow pencils, I find them too soft and that makes it way to easy to over do your brows and end up with a dark scouse brow look. I’ve always used dark brown eyeshadow and an angled brush, but it’s hard to do a more natural day time finish that way, I find it tends to look a bit dark for daytime, perfect for night though. So I had a good look at this online and selected Kalamata as a cool toned mid brown. As you can see it fills in the brows quite well, but naturally. Obviously it can be built up for night time for a more defined brow. It comes as a twist up pencil with an oval head. Allowing for broader strokes with the tip of the nib or narrower ones with the edge. The product is quite hard and waxy so you can fill in your brows with light pencil strokes mimicking hairs. Also the waxiness helps keep your brows in place for the day, though Nars also have a matching brow gel should you require one.

Then I powdered with Nars Immaculate Complexion Loose Powder in Snow, and applied Nars Lhasa single eyeshadow as a wash all over the lid and and into the crease. Lhasa is a beautiful greyish taupe with the teeniest hint of shimmer to it. It also has a slight purplish cast to it and can look anything from heathery grey, to slate grey, to grey brown depending on the intensity of the application. I adore it as I have blue/green eyes and it really brings out the green in my eyes and makes them stand out. It’s perfect on its own as a wash of colour, or as a contour colour in the crease, or mixed in with other shades for a greyed smokey eye.

IMG_1242      IMG_1243

Nars Lhasa Single Eyeshadow                          Nars Lhasa on the eye & brow filled in

IMG_1247IMG_1245IMG_1248

I finished the look with Le Volume De Chanel Mascara, Nars Deep Throat Blush & Nars Velvet Gloss Lip Pencil in New Lover.  Deep Throat is a wonderful peachy pink with a hint of shimmer. If, like me you liked the idea of Nars Orgasm, but it just didn’t work for you, Deep Throat is the one to look at. It’s less shimmery than Orgasm and brings a lovely, healthy glow to pale skin. New Lover was a mini freebie with my online order and it has rarely been off my lips when I require a natural look since. It comes in chubby pencil form and while classed as a gloss, it’s more like a very pigmented balm. It applies easily, feels comfortable on the lip and lasts quite well. Shadewise, it is what Nars Orgasm Lipgloss should have been.

IMG_1241IMG_1250[1]

Please excuse the fuzzy head on me in the photos, the hair is a disaster today, hence the fishtail braid. Also I’m not quite sure why one eyebrow is higher than the other in every photo, maybe they’ve always been like that and I’ve just never noticed. Anywoo, this is todays FOTD, hope you like it.

16 thoughts on “Lazy FOTD featuring some products I’ve purchased recently

  1. I know, lucky on that one, but the one thing I will say is that i bought another Nars duo from asos before, and though the actual eyeshadow was perfect, the box was very worn which was a bit disappointing. If I’m buying more than one thing (which I am very tempted to do) I’ll go with Nars own site. A little freebie would be the icing on the cake!

    • Have you registered for their emails? You get a welcome code for a free mini orgasm illuminator. They’ll also send you the freebie codes, usually on a Friday so never place an order with them on a Thursday night, was gutted when it happened me.

    • Forgot to say, what duo did you get? Am intrigued by the tinted moisturiser. I have absolutely no interest in BB creams, but I’m strangely drawn to this. Though it is supposed to have quite good coverage.

      • I got earth angel from asos, I have dogon as well. Love both but the dark shade in dogon is too dark for my limited skills so I just use it as a liner! It’s the taupes in both I love, never enough taupes haha! Thanks for tip re emails I will do that!!

      • I’ve just bought Lhasa!! it was reduced on asos to €16.27 from €23 something so I had to! I was already lusting after it anyway after xgirl’s post on beaut.ie a while back! Can’t wait to get it now!!

        • You jammy git. I never thought to check there before purchasing on narscosmetics.eu, mine cost €25, though having checked the before some prices are cheaper and some are dearer. Nars do freebie codes the odd time so I’ve stuck with them. I’ve placed 3 orders & gotten good sized freebies with 2 of them. It was Xgirls post that turned me onto Lhasa too.

Leave a Reply

