Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil AO….The Green One

shu-uemura-cleansing-oil-aoAm I the only know who has no clue how to pronounce Shu Uemura? An added advantage of online shopping is that at least you don’t feel like a tit asking for it at a counter and getting the name horribly wrong.

I recently received a 50ml travel size bottle of this in a swap and it has revolutionised my cleansing ritual. You simply apply 2 to 3 pumps into your hand (the Shu website says 3-4 but I find 2-3 more than enough), or in the case of the travel size, unscrew the top and pour a little into the palm of your hand. Rub hands together and then slather all over your face, including eyes and massage in. Your makeup, even heavy & waterproof eye makeup will dissolve and shift before your eyes. Then simply wet your hands and emulsify the oil, it will go white and then rinse off with clean water. My combination/dry skin loves it and doesn’t feel in any way dry or tight after use. It contains antioxidants and protects against pollution.  The following is the spiel on the Shu Uemura UK website:

“cleansing beauty oil a/o. for ageing concerns, cleansing beauty oil premium a/o is the #1 shu uemura cleansing oil in the world. a premium anti-oxidant skin purifer that thoroughly cleanses the skin while protecting it against internal and external aggressions associated with skin ageing.

contains catechin, derived from green tea, botanical oils, deepsea water, and a calming aroma based on watermelon, jasmine and sandalwood. the formula has anti-oxidant properties, and helps to hydrate and soothe skin. it also naturally provides moisture to skin, and helps to enhance skin transparency and improve skin quality”.

The ingredients are:

PARAFFINUM LIQUIDUM / MINERAL OIL
ZEA MAYS / CORN GERM OIL
CARTHAMUS TINCTORIUS / SAFFLOWER SEED OIL
CETYL ETHYLHEXANOATE
PEG-20 GLYCERYL TRIISOSTEARATE
SIMMONDSIA CHINENSIS / JOJOBA SEED OIL
POLYSORBATE 85
SORBITAN TRIOLEATE
SEA W

I know some people do not like mineral oil as they have heard that it is comeodogenic, but according to Wikipedia, “These lists of comedogenic substances were developed many years ago and are frequently quoted in the dermatological literature. A study reported in the Journal of Cosmetic Dermatology (2005) found that the type of highly refined and purified mineral oil found in cosmetic and skincare products is noncomedogenic (does not clog pores)”.

Anyway, back to the specifics of the product. I adore it, I find it cleanses very effectively, leaves skin soft and basically does exactly what it says on the tin. I also found it incredible when I had some seborrhoeic dermatitis on my eyelids. I would massage a little into the offending area, leave for a few minutes and then I was able to wipe away the scaly skin with some damp cotton wool. It did not irritate my skin and helped the creams I used to penetrate more efficiently, ultimately clearing the dermatitis flare up much faster.

I have since run out of my beloved facial oil, but I shall be repurchasing. In the meantime I am using the L’oreal 15 Second Miracle, it does the job, but the Shu is way better imo. It is pricey at £29.50 for 150ml and £59.00 for 450ml, but the 50ml size I had lasted me a good two months, so while expensive, it does last a long time.  It is at the top of my wishlist, along with their absolue essence hair oil.

Have you tried any of the Shu Uemura cleansing oils? What did you make of them? And do you know how to pronounce Shu Uemura?

6 thoughts on “Shu Uemura Cleansing Oil AO….The Green One

  1. I would love to try this. As well as the hair oil, I love hair oils. And its Shoe oo mare a. If you’ve ever seen The Devil Wears Prada, Serena says it, just before Andy walks in after getting her makeover.

  2. I’ve never tried this but I’d love to, I recently repurchased the MAC oil and I love it for removing makeup (I use Liz Earle for no makeup days). Have you tried that one, I’d love to know how they compare.

Leave a Reply

