Le Volume De Chanel Mascara

chanel_mascara_levolume

Until recently I have been a complete devote of Chanel Inimitable Mascara, it was my holy grail when it came to mascaras, I’ve used it exclusively since I first clapped eyes on it in Brown Thomas Limerick a few years back.  It defined, separated, lengthened and all round beautified my lashes.  
The only thing it didn’t really do was thicken them, but since I have never gotten along with volumizing mascaras….(they always go clumpy on me and I can’t use a lash comb without risking permanent sight loss), I wasn’t too worried.  I recently ran out of it and after being too skint to repurchase I tried out Catrice Glamour Doll mascara as the brush was quite similar (short spiky plastic), I found that it was a great dupe for Inimitable, if not quite as black on the lashes, but at under €5 compared to €30 for the Chanel it was a great compromise and kept me going til I could afford to repurchase.

When I finally did approach the Chanel counter with thirty euro bucks in my sweaty little hand, I was met with a display for Chanels latest mascara offering, Le Volume De Chanel, which promises: “This high-precision mascara achieves instant volume and intensely lush colour in a single stroke. Its innovative formula expands, plumping lashes to their fullest. The exclusive new ‘Snowflakes’ brush combines long and short bristles to deliver an extreme, eye-opening effect”.  Intrigued by the promise of fuller lashes and always a sucker for anything new from Chanel I asked the SA to try it out on my lashes, she duly did and I was sold.  It does all that Inimitable did and volumizes too.  It is a blacker than priests socks (love that phrase) black, my lashes are full, fluttery, lengthened, separated & defined….I. am. in. LOVE.  It is the same price as my once beloved Inimitable, €30 which is spendy but I find Chanel mascaras last me ages, and it’s CHANEL, you’re paying for that beautiful, glossy black tube with the interlocking C’s. The brush is similar to Inimitable in that it is plastic rather than a spoolie brush, it has short bristles of differing lengths and has really short ones at the front to grab those teenie tiny lashes at the inner corners of the eye and the bottom lashes.

The only criticism I would have (other than the price) is that, for the first while anyway you will need to wipe excess mascara off the wand before application to achieve a lump and clump free finish, this is also an issue I have with Inimitable, but once you do you will get a fabulously fluttery, full lashed effect, and sure, isn’t that what every girl wants?

6 thoughts on “Le Volume De Chanel Mascara

  1. HOW INCREDIBLE IS THIS MASCARA!!?? We just got given some samples of these at Chanel last week and wow! So amazed! Yeah the price…but wow the results!

    We just started out our own beauty blog and would love your support. Our most recent post is a ‘Battle of the Mascaras’ review. Would love to know if your experiences are the same as ours http://rubenesquebeautyblog.wordpress.com/2013/07/05/battle-of-the-mascaras/ Other posts include a guide to the perfect starter brush kit, date night tutorial and an eyeshadow colour guide based off eye colour. The full site is http://rubenesquebeautyblog.wordpress.com/ we also have an instagram @rubenesquebeautyblog so if you have one too follow us and hit us up with a comment so we can find you

Leave a Reply

