Nars Sheer Glow

751923a2-5466-4a3a-b993-5f83f4687127

I have been obsessed with trying out this foundation for the last few months.  Unfortunately there is only one Nars stockist in the whole of the Republic of Ireland and they are 2.5 hours drive from where I am.  
They refused to post out samples so shade matching was a case of viewing swatches online (check out Karla Sugar, she’s brilliant for swatches). Ordering online was scary as at €40 a pop, if you get the shade wrong it’s a very spendy mistake to make.  I was pretty sure I should be the shade Mont Blanc (Light 2), which is described as “Light with pink undertone”, which is me down to a tee, milk bottle white with pink cheeks and redness around the nose…basically your typical Irish complexion.  I saw a review on Makeup Monster using Mont Blanc and after speaking to Yavanna (lovely girl) we ended up organising a swap.  When it arrived I immediately lashed it on with my trusty Real Techniques Expert Face Brush….though Nars actually recommend you use fingers to warm it up and work it into the skin, anywoo I loved it.  The colour match for me is perfection.  It is not sheer in the traditional sense, it is actually more a medium coverage foundation, but it is buildable and blendable.  I find it goes on sheerer with fingers as suggested by Nars and a good solid medium when using a brush.  It has a satin finish, with a luminous, lit from within kind of glow rather than full on shiny. This is the spiel you get on the Nars Website:

A glowing, satin-finish foundation with sheer and buildable coverage that immaculately evens skin tone. Replete with skincare benefits and the NARS Complexion Brightening Formula, it leaves skin hydrated, more luminous, softer and smoother. Used daily, Sheer Glow Foundation improves the skin’s brightness and texture.

  • For normal, normal-to-dry and dry skin types
  • Hydrates for softer and smoother skin
  • Contains powerful anti-oxidants to protect against damaging free radicals and turmeric extract to improve skin’s radiance and tone
  • Dermatologist tested. Non-comedogenic. Fragrance free. Consumer Testing Results:
  • 100% skin felt soft and smooth
  • 96% evened out skin tone
  • 96% would recommend Sheer Glow to a friend
  • 92% says skin looks brighter and more radiant

As stated it is buildable, I add a bit more to my rosy cheeks, it builds natually and easily and (thankfully) doesn’t look cakey.  It is supposed to be designed for normal to dry skin. Mine is combination/dry, the only area I feel a need to keep an eye on while wearing it is around my nose as due to the oiliness there it has a bit more trouble staying put, but a quick buff with my Expert Face Brush and an extra dusting of powder on my nose around lunchtime sees me through the working day with my face intact.  This is me with Sheer Glow, concealer & powder, see how it hides my bozo the clown nose?!

I have only been using it for the last month and the weather has been alot stickier of late so in colder weather I probably wouldn’t have as much trouble keeping my nose matte. I set it using Nars Immaculate Complexion powder in Snow, which I will be reviewing shortly.  I ordered it, along with a few other bits on Narscosmetics.eu If you register for emails they send you a welcome code for a free mini blush, shipping is free once you spend over €50, but as the foundation is €40 you won’t have much trouble doing that.

The one thing that alot of people seem to dislike about it is the fact that it does not come with a pump, though you can purchase one separately, this is to facilitate the using of fingers to apply it apparently. Also if you do purchase the pump, the lid will no longer fit on, though the pump is lockable as far as I know. I don’t have the pump but it doesn’t bother me, I just pour a tiny bit at a time onto the back of my hand, it’s not an overly running formulation so it won’t flow out all over your hand, it’s up to personal preference really, I’m not too bothered, but just to be aware if you are purchasing online and you like a pump, I think it retails at around €4.

Have you tried Sheer Glow, or have you a lemming to try it just like I had?  Do tell.

6 thoughts on “Nars Sheer Glow

  1. This looks lovely on you!! Do you find it lasts all day? I’m looking for a good foundation to wear to college, I have dry skin pale skin so this looks to be a winner!!

    • Thank you, it’s not great in the heat but that’s cause I have combination skin & it’s disintegrating off my oilier bits. It’s staying our on the drier areas though so could be a winner for you. Are you in or near Dublin? There’s a Nars counter in BT there, it’s the only one in the country.

      • I’m in Galway actually! But i’ve friends and family in dublin so i’ll be visiting a few times this summer! I’ll pop in to BT to have a look! it’s nothing like the one we have in galway, pity! Thank you for the info!

  2. Pingback: Nars The Immaculate Complexion Loose Powder | One For The Wish List

Leave a Reply

